Skip to content

Feature study

English speaking app feature study, 2026

Which English speaking apps offer open AI conversation, pronunciation feedback by sound, a CEFR estimate, human tutors or a teacher dashboard? This study checks twenty apps against 25 capabilities, using only what each product says on its own public pages, and links every answer to its source. It ranks nothing.

Updated

Free About one minute No sign-up Your level, A1 to C2

Explained in your languageहिन्दीالعربية日本語한국어Bahasa MelayuไทยTiếng ViệtTürkçePortuguêsEspañol

Two people checking a large wall chart of dots, one with a magnifying glass and one with a clipboard
Illustration: Speakle

The matrix

20 apps and 25 capabilities, read on each product’s own public pages. All checked on . Each mark links to the page it came from.

  • Yes
  • Partly
  • Stated as not offered
  • Not found
CapabilityBabbelBoldVoiceBusuuCamblyChatGPT voiceDuolingoELSA SpeakHelloTalkitalkiLanguaLooraMemrisePraktikaPreplySpeakSpeakleStimulerTalkioTalkpalTandem
Speaking practice
Free speaking practicePartly (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Stated as not offered (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Not foundPartly (source)Partly (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Not foundPartly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)
Open AI conversationNot foundYes (source)Partly (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Not found
AI coach on videoNot foundNot foundNot foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Partly (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundYes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Not foundNot foundNot found
Scenario role-playsNot foundYes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundYes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Not found
Job interview practiceNot foundYes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Not foundPartly (source)Yes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundYes (source)Partly (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundNot found
IELTS speakingNot foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundPartly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Not foundYes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Not foundNot found
Feedback on what you say
Pronunciation by wordPartly (source)Partly (source)Partly (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Partly (source)Not foundPartly (source)Partly (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundYes (source)Partly (source)Not found
Pronunciation by soundNot foundYes (source)Not foundPartly (source)Not foundNot foundYes (source)Yes (source)Not foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundNot found
Grammar correctionsNot foundNot foundYes (source)Yes (source)Not foundNot foundYes (source)Partly (source)Not foundYes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Not foundYes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Not found
Fluency or paceNot foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundYes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Not foundNot found
Vocabulary feedbackNot foundNot foundYes (source)Yes (source)Not foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Partly (source)Not found
CEFR level estimateNot foundNot foundPartly (source)Not foundNot foundPartly (source)Partly (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundPartly (source)
Remembers your mistakesPartly (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Yes (source)Not foundPartly (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Not foundNot foundNot found
Course and content
Structured courseYes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Not foundYes (source)Partly (source)Partly (source)Partly (source)Partly (source)Stated as not offered (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Not found
Stories or listeningNot foundNot foundYes (source)Partly (source)Not foundPartly (source)Not foundPartly (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Not foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundPartly (source)Not found
Choice of accentsYes (source)Not foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundPartly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Not foundNot foundPartly (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundPartly (source)
Your own languageYes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Not foundYes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Not foundPartly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)
Free test, no accountNot foundPartly (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundNot foundNot foundNot foundNot foundNot foundNot foundPartly (source)Not foundPartly (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundNot found
People
Human tutorsNot foundYes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Not foundNot foundStated as not offered (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundStated as not offered (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundStated as not offered (source)
Other learnersNot foundNot foundPartly (source)Yes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Partly (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundNot foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundYes (source)
Teacher dashboardNot foundPartly (source)Partly (source)Not foundNot foundYes (source)Yes (source)Not foundNot foundPartly (source)Partly (source)Not foundPartly (source)Partly (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Not foundYes (source)Yes (source)Not found
Where it runs
Web browserYes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Stated as not offered (source)Yes (source)Stated as not offered (source)Yes (source)Stated as not offered (source)Yes (source)Not foundYes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)
AndroidYes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)
iPhoneYes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Partly (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)Yes (source)
Offline practiceYes (source)Not foundYes (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundStated as not offered (source)Partly (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundNot foundPartly (source)Partly (source)Not foundStated as not offered (source)Not foundNot foundNot foundNot found

Speakle publishes this study and is one of the apps in it, held to the same four answers. “Not found” means we looked and found no public statement either way. It does not mean the app lacks the feature.

The same data, app by app

Open an app to read each line with its note and source.

Babbel

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Partly. First lesson of every course is free; subscription needed beyond that. Source
Open AI conversation
Not found
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Not found
Job interview practice
Not found
IELTS speaking
Not found

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Partly. Speech recognition gives feedback per spoken word or phrase; no score stated. Source
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Not found
Fluency or pace
Not found
Vocabulary feedback
Not found
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Partly. Spaced-repetition vocab review scheduled by your performance. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Yes. CEFR-levelled courses; range for the English course not stated. Source
Stories or listening
Not found
Choice of accents
Yes. Listing: English (American or British). Source
Your own language
Yes. English taught from 8 display languages, e.g. German, Spanish, Polish. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Not found
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Not found

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. Babbel web version available; speech recognition works in Chrome. Source
Android
Yes. Official Google Play listing. Source
iPhone
Yes. Official App Store listing. Source
Offline practice
Yes. Offline mode in the app: download lessons, review vocabulary. Source
BoldVoice

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Partly. First 7 days free (trial); ongoing free tier not stated. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. 'AI Chat for free-flowing conversations with an AI conversation partner'. Source
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Yes. 'Conversation practice & AI role-play'. Source
Job interview practice
Yes. AI Chat scenarios include 'a job interview'. Source
IELTS speaking
Not found

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Partly. 'Sound-by-sound analysis of every word you pronounce'; numeric per-word score not stated. Source
Pronunciation by sound
Yes. 'Sound-level analysis of mistakes with personalized tips'. Source
Grammar corrections
Not found
Fluency or pace
Yes. AI Chat 'will analyze your pronunciation, fluency, and clarity'. Source
Vocabulary feedback
Not found
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Partly. Daily activities assigned from assessment 'Focus Sounds'; ongoing mistake log not stated. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Partly. Coach video lessons and customised learning paths; no level range stated. Source
Stories or listening
Not found
Choice of accents
Not found
Your own language
Partly. Learning path tailored to native language; interface language options not stated. Source
Free test, no account
Partly. Free web 'Accent Oracle' guesses accent; not a level test; sign-up need unconfirmed. Source

People

Human tutors
Yes. Separate 1:1 coaching sessions with a human coach over Zoom. Source
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Partly. Business offer tracks team progress; institutions mentioned, class dashboard not described. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Partly. Web sign-up and macOS desktop app; full browser practice not confirmed. Source
Android
Yes. FAQ page shows 'Get it on Google Play'. Source
iPhone
Yes. App Store listing by Wellocution Inc. Source
Offline practice
Not found
Busuu

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Yes. Study free; spoken exercises get corrections from the Community. Source
Open AI conversation
Partly. AI Conversations follow goal-based scenarios; limited free tries, then Premium Plus. Source
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Yes. AI Conversations use realistic speaking scenarios with a goal. Source
Job interview practice
Partly. English for Business course covers vocabulary for interviews. Source
IELTS speaking
Not found

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Partly. Feedback highlights words needing practice; no per-word score stated. Source
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Yes. Conversations give targeted vocabulary and grammar feedback afterwards. Source
Fluency or pace
Not found
Vocabulary feedback
Yes. Conversations give targeted vocabulary and grammar feedback afterwards. Source
CEFR level estimate
Partly. Placement Test suggests a level; CEFR certificates for Premium learners. Source
Remembers your mistakes
Yes. Mistake Repair builds exercises from past mistakes; iOS, limited free tries. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Yes. Complete English course, A1-C1. Source
Stories or listening
Yes. Course page: video lessons with real people and a TV-drama English course. Source
Choice of accents
Not found
Your own language
Yes. 15 interface languages. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Partly. Live Lessons with certified teachers are business-account only. Source
Other learners
Partly. Community corrects exercises; live learner conversation not stated. Source
Teacher dashboard
Partly. Busuu for Business has admin progress tracking; no schools product stated. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. macOS and Windows via Chrome, Firefox or Safari. Source
Android
Yes. Official Google Play listing. Source
iPhone
Yes. Official App Store listing. Source
Offline practice
Yes. Download lessons in the app; Premium subscription required. Source
Cambly

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Stated as not offered. Help centre explains Cambly is not free; paid trial lessons offered. Source
Open AI conversation
Partly. CamblyAI offers conversation practice between lessons; open-endedness not detailed. Source
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Yes. CamblyAI: role play real-life scenarios. Source
Job interview practice
Yes. Course: 'Workshop: Practicing Job Interviews' with a tutor. Source
IELTS speaking
Yes. IELTS Speaking courses and mock tests taken with tutors. Source

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Not found
Pronunciation by sound
Partly. Pronunciation activity identifies sounds to work on; feedback detail not stated. Source
Grammar corrections
Yes. Grammar and vocabulary feedback shown from your tutor conversations. Source
Fluency or pace
Not found
Vocabulary feedback
Yes. Grammar and vocabulary feedback shown from your tutor conversations. Source
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Partly. Post-lesson review of mistakes and activities built from your lessons. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Partly. Topic courses of set lessons, marked 'any level'; no CEFR range stated. Source
Stories or listening
Partly. Reading articles at your level; no story or audio library stated. Source
Choice of accents
Yes. Choose from tutors with different backgrounds and accents. Source
Your own language
Partly. Vocabulary flashcards include translation; lessons themselves are in English. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Yes. Live lessons with native English-speaking tutors. Source
Other learners
Yes. Group lessons with 1-2 other students, guided by a tutor. Source
Teacher dashboard
Not found

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. Works on Windows and Mac computers in Chrome-based browsers. Source
Android
Yes. Official Google Play listing. Source
iPhone
Yes. Official App Store listing. Source
Offline practice
Not found
ChatGPT voice

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Partly. App is free and lists voice mode; free-tier voice limits not verified. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. Listing: real-time voice conversation; 'practice a new language'. Source
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Partly. User-prompted role-play in Voice Mode; no built-in scenario library stated. Source
Job interview practice
Not found
IELTS speaking
Not found

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Not found
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Not found
Fluency or pace
Not found
Vocabulary feedback
Not found
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Not found

Course and content

Structured course
Not found
Stories or listening
Not found
Choice of accents
Not found
Your own language
Not found
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Not found
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Not found

Where it runs

Web browser
Partly. Academy: voice in mobile or desktop app; browser page could not be fetched. Source
Android
Yes. Official Google Play listing. Source
iPhone
Yes. Official App Store listing. Source
Offline practice
Not found
Duolingo

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Yes. Listing: every course is free; lessons include speaking practice. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. Video Call with Lily: talk about anything; Duolingo Max subscribers only. Source
AI coach on video
Yes. Video Call shows character Lily on screen; Duolingo Max only. Source
Scenario role-plays
Not found
Job interview practice
Partly. B1-B2 English units include lessons on job interviews; no mock interview stated. Source
IELTS speaking
Not found

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Not found
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Not found
Fluency or pace
Not found
Vocabulary feedback
Not found
CEFR level estimate
Partly. Duolingo Score (out of 160) shown to English learners, mapped to CEFR. Source
Remembers your mistakes
Yes. Practice tab 'Mistakes' reviews previous mistakes; free for all learners. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Yes. CEFR-aligned course path; most advanced content reaches end of B2. Source
Stories or listening
Partly. Listening lessons and DuoRadio described; availability for English course not confirmed. Source
Choice of accents
Not found
Your own language
Yes. 20+ English courses for different native languages; hints in native language. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Not found
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Yes. Duolingo for Schools: free classrooms, assignments and student activity insight. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. Site says: practice online on duolingo.com or on the apps. Source
Android
Yes. Official Google Play listing. Source
iPhone
Yes. Official App Store listing. Source
Offline practice
Not found
ELSA Speak

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Yes. Free version: Welcome planet plus first two lessons of every topic. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. Listing: AI-driven conversations and open-ended dialogues. Source
AI coach on video
Partly. Homepage lists 'Interactive Avatars' virtual characters; talking video face not described. Source
Scenario role-plays
Yes. Homepage: AI role-play for real-world language practice. Source
Job interview practice
Yes. Listing: Interview Coach. Source
IELTS speaking
Yes. Listing: IELTS exam preparation, available with ELSA Premium. Source

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Yes. Blog: percentage score for each word or sentence. Source
Pronunciation by sound
Yes. Highlights individual sounds; shows phonetic symbol for mispronounced sounds. Source
Grammar corrections
Yes. Listing: insights showing pace, hesitation and grammar score. Source
Fluency or pace
Yes. Listing: insights showing pace and hesitation. Source
Vocabulary feedback
Yes. Schools page: ELSA Proficiency Score covers vocabulary among five areas. Source
CEFR level estimate
Partly. ELSA Proficiency Score mapped to CEFR; stated on the Schools page. Source
Remembers your mistakes
Not found

Course and content

Structured course
Partly. 8,000+ lessons and custom learning pathways; no CEFR range stated. Source
Stories or listening
Not found
Choice of accents
Yes. Listing: accent choices American, British, Australian and more. Source
Your own language
Yes. Homepage: learn English in your native language; number not stated there. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Stated as not offered. FAQ: no online classes or exchanges with native speakers or teachers. Source
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Yes. ELSA Schools: assign speaking activities, track class progress on a dashboard. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Partly. FAQ: app not usable on PC/laptop; ELSA School runs in browser. Source
Android
Yes. Official Google Play listing. Source
iPhone
Yes. Official App Store listing. Source
Offline practice
Stated as not offered. FAQ: requires a stable data connection to access lessons. Source
HelloTalk

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Yes. 'Practice for free' with native speakers via text, voice or video. Source
Open AI conversation
Partly. Talksy, a separate HelloTalk app: spoken AI conversation practice with corrections. Source
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Not found
Job interview practice
Not found
IELTS speaking
Not found

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Partly. Own blog describes a pronunciation scorer; per-word scoring not stated. Source
Pronunciation by sound
Yes. Own blog: scorer gives feedback on 'tone, stress, and individual sounds'. Source
Grammar corrections
Partly. Native speakers correct grammar and pronunciation; AI Grammar tool is for writing. Source
Fluency or pace
Not found
Vocabulary feedback
Not found
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Not found

Course and content

Structured course
Partly. LanguageClass: 'Structured language courses with AI adaptation'; level range not stated. Source
Stories or listening
Partly. Voicerooms and Livestreams for listening practice; no story library stated. Source
Choice of accents
Not found
Your own language
Yes. App Store lists 16 app languages; built-in translation. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Partly. Livestream hosts 'offer online video lessons'; 1:1 tutoring not stated. Source
Other learners
Yes. Voicerooms: live group audio conversations; partner voice and video chat. Source
Teacher dashboard
Not found

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. 'Available on iOS, Android, and Web.' Source
Android
Yes. 'Available on iOS, Android, and Web.' Source
iPhone
Yes. App Store listing. Source
Offline practice
Partly. 'Offline Download: Learn without internet connection' listed under Android features. Source
italki

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Not found
Open AI conversation
Partly. AI Roleplay for Plus subscribers, tied to lesson content; spoken mode not stated. Source
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Not found
Job interview practice
Not found
IELTS speaking
Not found

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Not found
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Not found
Fluency or pace
Not found
Vocabulary feedback
Not found
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Not found

Course and content

Structured course
Partly. Teachers tailor classes to A1-C2; no single platform course stated. Source
Stories or listening
Partly. Teacher-made podcast episodes in the app; no stories or levelled library stated. Source
Choice of accents
Partly. Learner picks a teacher by accent, British or American; no accent setting. Source
Your own language
Yes. App Store lists 19 app languages. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Yes. Private 1-on-1 video lessons with teachers and tutors. Source
Other learners
Partly. Teacher-led group classes for 2-6 students; peer-only live calls not stated. Source
Teacher dashboard
Not found

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. Lessons run in a web browser through italki Classroom. Source
Android
Yes. Help centre: italki app is available on Android and iOS. Source
iPhone
Yes. App Store listing by italki HK Limited. Source
Offline practice
Not found
Langua

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Partly. 'Try a conversation for free, right now without subscribing'; then trial or subscription. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. Hands-free Call Mode; chats, roleplays and debates with AI. Source
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Yes. 'Hundreds of engaging conversation topics - roleplays, debates, chats'. Source
Job interview practice
Not found
IELTS speaking
Partly. Human tutor profiles advertise IELTS preparation; no AI IELTS mode or band estimate. Source

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Partly. Pronunciation score on suggested replies, web version; per-word detail not stated. Source
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Yes. 'Written corrections with explanations' plus verbal coaching in real time. Source
Fluency or pace
Not found
Vocabulary feedback
Not found
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Yes. Grammar drills built from frequent mistakes; saved words recycled into chats and flashcards. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Partly. Grammar curriculum tailored to CEFR level; full levelled course range not stated. Source
Stories or listening
Yes. AI stories from saved words; podcasts with interactive transcripts. Source
Choice of accents
Yes. 'Multiple native dialects'; updates name an American English voice. Source
Your own language
Yes. Interface in seven more languages; AI understands your native language when stuck. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Yes. LanguaTalk offers 1-on-1 lessons with human English tutors. Source
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Partly. Organisation reports by learner and group; self-serve dashboard in early access. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. 'Web & apps included'. Source
Android
Yes. Page lists an 'Android app'. Source
iPhone
Yes. App Store listing by LanguaTalk Inc. Source
Offline practice
Not found
Loora

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Partly. One free lesson, then a subscription is required. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. Unlimited Talk: open-ended conversation on any topic. Source
AI coach on video
Yes. Optional avatar appears in conversation; can go full screen like a video call. Source
Scenario role-plays
Yes. Preset scenarios plus create-your-own role-plays. Source
Job interview practice
Yes. Role-play scenarios include attending a job interview. Source
IELTS speaking
Yes. FAQ: simulates IELTS speaking sections with feedback; no band estimate stated. Source

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Partly. Mispronounced words are highlighted; per-word score not stated. Source
Pronunciation by sound
Yes. FAQ: identifies which sounds you struggle with and coaches them. Source
Grammar corrections
Yes. Grammar corrections underlined in the chat after each utterance. Source
Fluency or pace
Yes. Each lesson scored on grammar, fluency and pronunciation. Source
Vocabulary feedback
Yes. Measures vocabulary used and how it expands over time. Source
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Yes. Key takeaways keep focusing on mistakes you repeat. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Stated as not offered. Help centre: no fixed courses, set units or predetermined syllabus. Source
Stories or listening
Partly. Read and Talk articles to read then discuss; no audio stories stated. Source
Choice of accents
Yes. Choose British or American English in settings. Source
Your own language
Partly. Type in your own language for an English translation; languages not listed. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Not found
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Partly. Business admin dashboard tracks progress; no schools product stated. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Stated as not offered. Help centre: mobile app only; web version described as coming soon. Source
Android
Yes. Official Google Play listing. Source
iPhone
Yes. Official App Store listing. Source
Offline practice
Not found
Memrise

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Partly. 'You can start learning for free'; which speaking features are free is not stated. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. Podchats: 'real, unscripted voice conversation with an AI podcast host'. Source
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Yes. 'Choose from hundreds of real-life scenarios'; AI Buddies conversation practice. Source
Job interview practice
Not found
IELTS speaking
Yes. Exam Prep for IELTS: speaking tests with projected score from AI examiner. Source

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Not found
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Yes. Podchats gives 'personalised feedback on your grammar and phrasing'. Source
Fluency or pace
Not found
Vocabulary feedback
Partly. Podchats returns 'the vocabulary you used'; range feedback not stated. Source
CEFR level estimate
Yes. Free guided self-assessment gives a CEFR level per skill. Source
Remembers your mistakes
Not found

Course and content

Structured course
Partly. English course by topic for 'All levels'; exact CEFR range not stated. Source
Stories or listening
Yes. Memrise Stories (includes English); lessons built on native-speaker videos. Source
Choice of accents
Yes. App Store lists courses in English (UK) and English (US). Source
Your own language
Yes. App Store lists 22 app languages. Source
Free test, no account
Partly. Free self-assessment test; no live speaking; account requirement not stated. Source

People

Human tutors
Not found
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Not found

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. Features 'available on the web app and mobile'. Source
Android
Yes. On Google Play; memrise.com pages link to the listing. Source
iPhone
Yes. App Store listing by Memrise Limited. Source
Offline practice
Not found
Praktika

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Yes. Free plan: three avatars, limited speaking practice, basic feedback. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. Free Talk mode: you choose the topic; no script. Source
AI coach on video
Yes. Gen AI avatar tutors with facial expression and lip-sync. Source
Scenario role-plays
Yes. Listing: role-play as tourist, startup founder and more. Source
Job interview practice
Yes. Rehearse common interview questions; interview-style missions. Source
IELTS speaking
Yes. IELTS-style speaking practice; feedback not based on exam scoring criteria. Source

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Yes. Overall and per-word pronunciation score on your messages. Source
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Yes. Real-time feedback on pronunciation, grammar, vocabulary, pace and word choice. Source
Fluency or pace
Yes. Feedback covers speaking pace; pronunciation score considers fluency. Source
Vocabulary feedback
Yes. Feedback covers vocabulary and word choice. Source
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Partly. Tutor adjusts content to your level, pace and types of mistakes. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Yes. Courses for all levels, 1000+ lessons; full CEFR range not stated. Source
Stories or listening
Partly. Homepage lists listening and reading exercises; no stories stated. Source
Choice of accents
Yes. Tutor accents: American, British, Australian, Asian. Source
Your own language
Yes. 'Study in your native language' option; number of languages not stated. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Not found
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Partly. Business offer mentions dashboards and analytics; no schools product stated. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Stated as not offered. Help centre: mobile and tablets only; desktop version not available. Source
Android
Yes. Official Google Play listing. Source
iPhone
Yes. Official App Store listing. Source
Offline practice
Partly. Needs internet, but lessons can be downloaded for offline practice. Source
Preply

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Not found
Open AI conversation
Partly. Scenario Practice: spoken AI tasks; limited beta for subscribers; scenario-based, not open-ended. Source
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Partly. Scenario Practice (limited beta): directions, restaurant, meeting introductions. Source
Job interview practice
Partly. Tutor profiles advertise interview coaching; no platform interview mode stated. Source
IELTS speaking
Partly. IELTS named among tests tutors cover; no band estimate stated. Source

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Not found
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Not found
Fluency or pace
Partly. Lesson Insights include 'speaking metrics'; which metrics is not stated. Source
Vocabulary feedback
Partly. Lesson Insights list 'key vocabulary'; vocabulary-range feedback not stated. Source
CEFR level estimate
Yes. Free placement test returns a CEFR level A0-C2; tests grammar. Source
Remembers your mistakes
Partly. Daily Exercises 'connect content from lessons and learner's focus areas'. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Partly. Preply levels follow CEFR A1-C2; lessons are tutor-led, no platform course stated. Source
Stories or listening
Not found
Choice of accents
Not found
Your own language
Yes. Site menu lists 19 languages; tutor search has an "Also speaks" filter. Source
Free test, no account
Partly. Free 36-question grammar test; no speaking; account requirement not stated. Source

People

Human tutors
Yes. Live 1-on-1 lessons with English tutors. Source
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Partly. Preply Business admin dashboard is for companies, not schools. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. 'You can also learn through any web browser'. Source
Android
Yes. 'The Preply app is available for iOS and Android'. Source
iPhone
Yes. App Store listing by Preply Inc. Source
Offline practice
Partly. Parts of app work offline: reviewing Lesson Insights, completing exercises. Source
Speak

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Partly. 7-day free trial; paid subscription required afterwards. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. Free Talk: free-form conversation lessons, including create-your-own scenarios. Source
AI coach on video
Yes. Immersive Mode uses 3D-style animated characters with real-time speaking. Source
Scenario role-plays
Yes. Scenario-based roleplay lessons, e.g. ordering at a restaurant. Source
Job interview practice
Not found
IELTS speaking
Not found

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Not found
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Yes. Listing: real-time feedback on pronunciation, grammar and more. Source
Fluency or pace
Yes. Listing: assessment of pronunciation, intonation and fluency. Source
Vocabulary feedback
Partly. 'Vocab Skill Errors' lessons built from misused words. Source
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Yes. Made For You lessons built from course and Free Talk mistakes. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Yes. Expert-built curriculum with level-based lessons; CEFR range not stated. Source
Stories or listening
Not found
Choice of accents
Not found
Your own language
Yes. English courses for speakers of 15 native languages. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Not found
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Partly. Speak for Business admin portal tracks learners; no schools product stated. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Stated as not offered. Help centre: iOS and Android only; not available on desktop. Source
Android
Yes. Official Google Play listing. Source
iPhone
Yes. Official App Store listing. Source
Offline practice
Not found
Speakle (publisher of this study)

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Yes. Free plan: one scored speaking session every day. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. Live AI coach holds open conversation; paid plans. Source
AI coach on video
Yes. The live coach answers on video in real time. Source
Scenario role-plays
Yes. Travel, work, debate and rehearsal of a specific conversation. Source
Job interview practice
Yes. In-role interviewer with a panel-style decision afterwards. Source
IELTS speaking
Yes. Exam-condition practice; the band is an estimate, not official. Source

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Yes. Each word is scored. Source
Pronunciation by sound
Yes. Each sound is scored, with rhythm and intonation. Source
Grammar corrections
Yes. Corrections on the transcript of what was said. Source
Fluency or pace
Yes. Pace, pauses and fillers. Source
Vocabulary feedback
Yes. Vocabulary is one of the scored areas. Source
CEFR level estimate
Yes. An estimate for tracking progress, not a credential. Source
Remembers your mistakes
Yes. Repeated mistakes are kept and drilled until they stop. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Yes. 109 units, A1 to C2. Source
Stories or listening
Yes. Levelled stories to listen to and retell. Source
Choice of accents
Partly. Listening practice in several accents; no accent setting for the coach. Source
Your own language
Yes. Hints and explanations in 12 languages. Source
Free test, no account
Yes. One spoken answer, about a minute, no sign-up. Source

People

Human tutors
Stated as not offered. No tutors to book. Source
Other learners
Yes. Video calls matched by level, about ten minutes. Source
Teacher dashboard
Yes. Classes, assignments and a view of who practised. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. Runs in the browser. Source
Android
Yes. On Google Play. Source
iPhone
Partly. Early access; not yet on the App Store. Source
Offline practice
Stated as not offered. Practice needs a connection. Source
Stimuler

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Yes. Listing: free for everyone to practise speaking and get feedback. Source
Open AI conversation
Partly. Conversation with AI coach Sarah on 100+ topics; open-endedness not detailed. Source
AI coach on video
Partly. Live video mock IELTS tests with an AI Interviewer; avatar not described. Source
Scenario role-plays
Partly. Site mentions scenario-based practice; scenarios not listed. Source
Job interview practice
Not found
IELTS speaking
Yes. Immediate IELTS band score; full-length speaking mock tests. Source

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Not found
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Yes. Listing: real-time feedback on pronunciation, fluency, grammar, vocabulary. Source
Fluency or pace
Yes. Listing: fluency feedback plus filler words, pace and pauses. Source
Vocabulary feedback
Yes. Listing: instant feedback on pronunciation, fluency, vocabulary. Source
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Partly. Exercises customised to strengths and weaknesses; practice to improve mistakes. Source

Course and content

Structured course
Partly. Premium 'tailored practice roadmap'; no levelled course range stated. Source
Stories or listening
Not found
Choice of accents
Not found
Your own language
Not found
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Not found
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Not found

Where it runs

Web browser
Not found
Android
Yes. Official Google Play listing. Source
iPhone
Yes. Official App Store listing. Source
Offline practice
Not found
Talkio

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Partly. 7-day free trial; free level test includes saying three sentences aloud. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. 'Natural back-and-forth conversations with an AI tutor'. Source
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Yes. Own blog: 'open conversation, specific topics, realistic role-plays, or pronunciation'. Source
Job interview practice
Not found
IELTS speaking
Partly. Site answers cover IELTS speaking practice with AI; no band estimate stated. Source

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Yes. Pronunciation practice 'with word-by-word feedback'. Source
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Yes. 'Instant feedback on pronunciation, fluency, and grammar'. Source
Fluency or pace
Yes. 'Instant feedback on pronunciation, fluency, and grammar'. Source
Vocabulary feedback
Partly. Stats panel shows a Vocabulary percentage; detail not stated. Source
CEFR level estimate
Yes. Free test gives 'an estimated CEFR level from A1 to C1'. Source
Remembers your mistakes
Not found

Course and content

Structured course
Partly. Guided courses by chosen level; level range not stated. Source
Stories or listening
Not found
Choice of accents
Yes. Lists American, British, Australian, Canadian and other English variants. Source
Your own language
Partly. Tutor messages can auto-translate to native language; interface languages not stated. Source
Free test, no account
Yes. Ten questions plus three spoken sentences; 'no sign-up or email'. Source

People

Human tutors
Not found
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Yes. Schools product: dashboard to monitor students and organise learners into groups. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. 'Works in all modern browsers, including Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge'. Source
Android
Yes. 'Download Talkio for Android from Google Play'. Source
iPhone
Yes. App Store listing by Aidia ApS. Source
Offline practice
Not found
Talkpal

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Yes. Free Basic plan: basic chat, 10 minute daily limit, pronunciation assessment tool. Source
Open AI conversation
Yes. Chat Mode and audio-only Call Mode with an AI tutor. Source
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Yes. Roleplays: 'Real-life speaking scenarios (travel, work, dating, & more)'. Source
Job interview practice
Not found
IELTS speaking
Not found

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Partly. Sentence Mode gives a 0-100 pronunciation score; per-word scoring not stated. Source
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Yes. Listing states 'Personalized AI pronunciation & grammar corrections'. Source
Fluency or pace
Not found
Vocabulary feedback
Partly. Daily feedback score considers 'grammar usage, vocabulary complexity'; detail not stated. Source
CEFR level estimate
Not found
Remembers your mistakes
Not found

Course and content

Structured course
Yes. Courses from A1 to C2, 20 units per level. Source
Stories or listening
Partly. Dialogue and Call modes train listening; no stories or listening library stated. Source
Choice of accents
Not found
Your own language
Yes. Separate interface-language and translation-language settings; count not stated on site. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Not found
Other learners
Not found
Teacher dashboard
Yes. Education plan: admin dashboard to invite students, with progress tracking. Source

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. Web access at app.talkpal.ai. Source
Android
Yes. Android app on Google Play, per help centre. Source
iPhone
Yes. App Store listing by TalkPal, Inc. Source
Offline practice
Not found
Tandem

Speaking practice

Free speaking practice
Yes. Describes practising with native speakers as 'totally free'; audio and video calls. Source
Open AI conversation
Not found
AI coach on video
Not found
Scenario role-plays
Not found
Job interview practice
Not found
IELTS speaking
Not found

Feedback on what you say

Pronunciation by word
Not found
Pronunciation by sound
Not found
Grammar corrections
Not found
Fluency or pace
Not found
Vocabulary feedback
Not found
CEFR level estimate
Partly. English certificate tests at A2-C1; reading, listening and grammar only, no speaking. Source
Remembers your mistakes
Not found

Course and content

Structured course
Not found
Stories or listening
Not found
Choice of accents
Partly. Learner chooses partners from US, UK and other countries; no accent setting. Source
Your own language
Yes. App Store lists 14 app languages; in-app translation. Source
Free test, no account
Not found

People

Human tutors
Stated as not offered. FAQ: Tandem Tutors feature was discontinued in 2020. Source
Other learners
Yes. Partner audio and video calls, plus 'Parties' group audio space. Source
Teacher dashboard
Not found

Where it runs

Web browser
Yes. FAQ: iOS, Android 'as well as our web app'. Source
Android
Yes. FAQ: 'available to download on iOS and Android devices'. Source
iPhone
Yes. App Store listing by Tripod Technology GmbH. Source
Offline practice
Not found

What this study is

This is a list of what twenty English speaking apps say they offer, set out line by line. For each app we read its own public pages (its website, its help centre and its store listings) and recorded whether each of 25 capabilities is offered. Every answer links to the page it came from, so you can check any line yourself.

It is not a ranking and it does not score anything. An app with more marks is not a better app. A tutor marketplace and a pronunciation trainer are built for different jobs, and the right one depends on what you need to practise. If you want our own view of which kind of product suits which learner, that is a separate page: how the kinds of English speaking app compare.

Speakle publishes this study and is one of the twenty apps in it. That is a conflict of interest, and the method below is how we tried to keep it honest. If you find a line that is wrong, including one that flatters us, tell us and we will fix it.

How we checked each app

One rule decided what counted as evidence: the product's own words. We used the app's website, its help centre, its pricing page and its official listings on Google Play and the App Store. We did not use reviews, videos, forum posts or other comparison sites, because they go out of date and they disagree with each other.

Every cell has one of four answers.

  • Yes. The product's own pages say it offers this.
  • Partly. It offers something close, with a limit that matters. The note on the line says what the limit is, for example a feature that is only in the top plan, only on one platform, or only for business accounts.
  • Stated as not offered. The product's own pages say outright that it does not do this. We used this answer only when there was a sentence to point to.
  • Not found. We looked and found no public statement either way.

"Not found" is the answer to read most carefully. It does not mean the app lacks the feature. It means the feature is not described on the public pages we could read on the day we checked. Some help centres block automated readers, some features live behind a login, and some apps simply do not write everything down. A general assistant such as ChatGPT voice has many "Not found" lines because it is not sold as a language course and so does not describe itself in these terms, not because it cannot hold a conversation in English.

No prices appear anywhere in the study. They differ by country and change often, and a wrong price is worse than none.

What each capability means

A study like this is only as good as its definitions, so here is what had to be true for a "Yes" on the lines people most often read differently.

Open AI conversation means you can speak freely and the AI answers what you said. A fixed script where you repeat a given line does not count.

AI coach on video means the tutor appears as a talking face. A voice with a static picture does not count.

Pronunciation by word and pronunciation by sound are two lines on purpose. Many apps tell you which word was unclear. Fewer name the sound inside the word.

Remembers your mistakes means the app keeps a record of errors you repeat and builds later practice from that record. Saving new vocabulary for review is close, and is marked "Partly".

CEFR level estimate means the learner is shown a CEFR level. An app's own score that the company maps to CEFR in its documentation is marked "Partly".

IELTS speaking covers practice in the exam format as well as a band estimate. The note says which. No app's estimate is an official result, and that includes ours.

Free test, no account means a level or speaking test you can finish without signing up. A placement test inside the app after registration does not count.

Free speaking practice means some spoken practice without paying. A trial that asks for a payment method first is marked "Partly".

Hover over any capability name in the matrix to see its test, or open an app in the list under the matrix to read every line with its note.

Where this study can be wrong

We would rather you knew the weak points than found them.

The answers describe public pages, not the apps themselves. We did not install twenty apps and test each feature by hand. A company can describe a feature loosely, and a page can lag behind the product. Where the wording was thin, we marked "Partly" or "Not found" instead of guessing.

Several products are assessed for learning English specifically. Some apps offer a feature for other languages and not for English, or only when the app is displayed in certain languages. Where the public pages did not confirm the feature for English learners, the line is "Not found".

Some sources are the company's own blog posts. Those are still the company's words, but a blog post is weaker evidence than a help page, and a few lines rest on one.

Features change quickly. Every line was read on the date shown at the top of the matrix. That date only moves when the lines have been read again.

Speakle's own column follows the same rules. It has no human tutors to book, practice needs a connection, the iPhone app is in early access, and the live coach is on paid plans. Those lines are marked as such.

How to use or cite it

If you write about English learning apps, you are welcome to quote or reuse this matrix with a link back to this page. Please keep the date with it, since a line that was right in one month can be wrong in the next.

If you work on one of the apps listed and a line is wrong or out of date, write to us through the contact page with a link to the public page that shows the correct answer. We will update the line and the date. We will not change a line on request without a public source, for the same reason we did not use private sources ourselves.

If you are a learner choosing an app, use the matrix to rule things in, not out. Find the two or three capabilities you care about, see which apps state them, then try those apps. Most have a free tier or a trial. Ours starts with a free speaking test that needs no account, and the features page describes the rest.

Find out where you stand

Answer one question out loud and get an estimate of your speaking level. When you want daily practice, the free plan includes a scored speaking session every day, and no card is needed.

A scored speaking session every day on the free plan No card

Explained in your languageहिन्दीالعربية日本語한국어Bahasa MelayuไทยTiếng ViệtTürkçePortuguêsEspañol